Own your own feelings.

How many times do you hear, “Someone made me angry”, “Someone made me upset”. I feel there is some what of an emphasis on other people causing us to feel things, rather than owning how we feel. Where is the line between blaming everything on everyone else, so that we don’t have to take any responsibility for our own actions, and how they affect our mood. As someone who has a great deal of difficulty in over thinking absolutely everything, I find it hard to work out what situations I’ve made up in my head. As opposed to what is actually going on in the present. In my mind I’ve had ten billion different conversations about the same topic, with multiple different outcomes. Focusing on the outcomes mostly that are negative. Creating a whirlwind of paranoia and anxiety. My mind is a complex of worst case scenarios, playing in parallel. Advice related to, “Just don’t worry about it”, or “It’ll all be fine”. Fuel the process further until it takes on a life of its own. My behavior may appear irrational, mainly because to me everything has already gone wrong ten times, before I even get to the situation that i’m worried about. I may wear my heart on my sleeve, but for me there is no other way. I can’t fake emotion, and I can’t pretend to be happy when i’m sad. My life is not a lie. And it never will be.

Leave a comment